I'll Always Remember You Analysis (English Movie 10 Ending)

06/02/2015 10:51

I know the dub isn't the best place to look for hints since it is not the original canon, but this song gives us one. Even if it is less canon, the way the writers wrote the song shows that he truly understood the dynamics of Ash and Dawn. I'll be tackling this song much like "Where the Lost Ones Go" was.

1st Verse:
I'll always remember you
Carry your dreams
Until they come true
Each breath that I take
Each moment away
I'll always remember you


Much like it's Japanese counterpart, this song is sang by a woman about someone very important to her and her feelings about her time away from said person and could be sung by either Alice or Dawn about their feelings for Tonio and Ash respectively. I'll tackle why the Alice part doesn't make sense. The way the person sings suggests that she is singing to this person, far away from them. But why would Alice sing this song if she and Tonio live in the same town? Plus, it says "Carry your dreams Until they come true." The movie doesn't say what either of their dreams is, so now THAT part doesn't make sense.

Dawn, on the other hand, has a different goal than Ash and their paths would most likely diverge at one point. Plus, they've traveled together for awhile before this movie so Ash has probably told her about Misty and May and how they left each other to pursue their own dreams and this part could be seen as a nostalgic look back on an adventure from some point where she and Ash have parted ways. As we Pearlshippers know, one of the cornerstones of this pairing is how much they support one another and "Carry your dreams" seems like something Dawn would say to encourage Ash.

2nd Verse:
Everywhere I walk, I see your shadow
And when I close my eyes, I see your face
Every song I sing, I hear your melody
Because not a moment that goes by
And you're not on my mind


Now, this is a basic reinforcement of the message of its predecessor: Female singing about special person and her feelings about being apart from them. The melody part may support the Alice-Tonio theory, but I'd like to point out that our favorite trio travels to most places by foot during the day, thus they leave a shadow as they walk. So, if the person sing is Dawn, then she is sing about how she always seeing Ash's shadow, reflecting her sorrow of him no longer at her side.

3rd Verse:

You will always be my hero
Never scared, braver than us all
Guiding light for me to follow
Always showing me the way
Right beside me everyday


Okay, this blows Alice-Tonio out of the water. Ash is a hero to Dawn because he saves her many times, like when he tries to do so when she nearly falls out of the hot air balloon in the movie. He's always the last person to be afraid in situations like Alamos, taking action when no one else will. He also serves as a shinning example for what she should strive to be, as well as an important teacher that helps to improve her skills whenever needed. Unlike Tonio, who is rather meek. Besides, this verse makes much more sense for two people in a journey, not two people that sit in a town their entire life.


Once again, we have the first verse:
I'll always remember you
Carry your dreams 
Until they come true
Each breath that I take
Each moment away
I'll always remember you


4th Verse:
Oh oh yeah, I remember
Hey yes yes, I remember

Oh, for the sacrifice you made
And all the gifts you gave


This refers to the gifts of training, advice, even the trading of Aipom that Ash has given to Dawn later on. He sacrificed time and sometimes nearly his life to help his friend whenever she needed it.

Now the song ends with a few revisions of the first verse. Interestingly, one of the lines is changed to "I'll carry your dreams", almost like a promise.

Final Verses 1&2:
I'll always remember you
Carry your dreams
Until they come true
Each breath that I take
Each moment away
I'll always remember you you you

I'll always remember you
I'll carry your dreams
Until they come true
Each breath that I take
Each moment away
I'll always remember
Always remember
I'll always remember you

 

 

Article by knightofbalance