My Testimony; Ravencupid

19/07/2014 19:51

Were you always a Pearlshipper?

No I was actually never involved in any Pokémon shipping. I grew up watching the Original Series, but never liked Misty a lot. After the Johto series ended, I stopped watching Pokémon for a few years. Finally, one day I saw my brother's friend watching the Advance series on my laptop. I guess you can kinda say that I took a liking to Advanceshipping and Ash and May's relationship.

I later discovered Pearlshipping when my brother's friend brought The Rise of Darkrai DVD to my house. I was instantly hooked on Dawn's character and the scenes that Ash and Dawn shared together. You might think that I became a Pearlshipper at that moment, right? I actually didn't, that is until I watched a couple of AMVs on YouTube and did a little more research that I became a Pearlshipper and I'm glad that I did.

If not what changed your mind?

After I watched the movie, I started watching more Diamond and Pearl episodes and became hooked on Dawn's character. What really changed my mind though was the first Pearlshipping AMV that I watched on YouTube by TheLolz202 and a fanfic by xStart.a.RIOTx that really changed my mind.

What were your first impressions on Pearlshipping?

As I mentioned, I first learned about Dawn during the Rise of Darkrai movie. I loved the way Ash and Dawn act towards each other and the way that Ash looks at Dawn during that scene when the flower petals were falling down on them really caught my attention.

Why are you a Pearlshipper?

Ash and Dawn are so much closer to each other than any other girl in Pokémon. They are comfortable enough to be themselves and joke around each other when all the other girls aren't. What really makes me proud to be a Pearlshipper is that Ash and Dawn will never forget each other. Ash remembers Misty by her lure and May by the halves of the contest ribbon that they share, but for Dawn, he specifically didn't really need anything to remind him of her.

How long have you been a Pearlshipper?

For about 2-3 years now and I'm proud.

What would you advise potential Pearlshippers?

Take your time and get to know about Pearlshipping more. Watch the AMVs, movies and episodes, read the fanfics, look up some fanart, etc. I promise you that whatever you find will show you that Pearlshipping is the ship to choose.